Pumpkin Bread to Make Your Life.

I kid you not. I start getting requests for this fall inspired pumpkin bread as early as August. My coworkers would kill me if they knew I made a loaf last night and didn’t bring any to the office today. It’s good. Real good.

 I made my first loaf of “the season” yesterday and it was just as delicious and comforting as ever. The recipe I use is adapted from Better Homes and Gardens Bridal Edition cookbook. Cdub actually gave it to me a really long time ago, and it’s been my standby for a few years now. (Even though I thought it was kind of weird when he gave it to me).

I, of course, had to make a few changes, but this recipe is awesome and simple and you should go get about 10 cans of pumpkin right now. If you make this once, you’ll make it about 20 more times before Christmas. Trust me.

Becker’s Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour (whole wheat pastry also works)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 (heaping) teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 (heaping) teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup turbinado sugar (regular refined sugar is fine)
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup water (seems strange, but trust me)
  • 1 can pumpkin
  • About a 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix the sugar and oil in a large bowl with an electric beater until well combined. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon & nutmeg. Whisk them all together until well combined.
  4. Alternately add the flour and water to the egg, sugar, oil mixture. Mix well after each addition of flour or water. Mix an entire can of pumpkin into the combined batter.
  5. At this point you can go crazy! I usually like to just top my pumpkin bread with walnuts. However, in the past, I’ve been known to add chocolate chips , raisins, nuts to the batter – whatever you can think of.
  6. Pour the batter into a greased bread pan. Bake for 55-65 minutes. Let it cool… or better yet, cut it while it’s still warm and spread a little butter on top, it’s heaven I tell ya.

If you like to make more than one loaf at a time, of course you can double the recipe – or make muffins with the current recipe.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

