A Pancake Tour

Wouldn’t that just be the best thing ever… taking a pancake tour of America. Searching out the presumably best pancake spots in the U.S of A, doing a good ol’ Becker’s taste test, and then writing about it! Oh man, if only, right? Travel and Leisure did a survey of the best pancake joints in America and Hominy Grill in Charleston, SC was one of the top picks. I’ve been there before! But sadly never had the pancake – Next time! Check it out.

How can I get paid to research and write about things like this? If you have any connections, please let me know!

Speaking of pancakes. Here is one of my favorite recipes, courtesy of Giada De Laurentiis. She’s not necessarily my favorite food network personality, but I do have one of her cookbooks and most of her recipes are pretty delicious.

Ricotta Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups pancake and waffle mix (recommended: Krusteaz)
  • 1 cup whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 2/3 cup frozen blueberries
  • Melted butter

Directions

Stir 1/3 cup of water and sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat until the sugar dissolves, about 5 minutes. Stir in the honey. Set aside and keep the honey syrup warm.

Using a rubber spatula, stir the remaining 1 2/3 cups of water and vanilla in a large bowl. Add the pancake mix and stir just until moistened but still lumpy. Stir in the ricotta into the pancake mixture, then stir gently to incorporate the ricotta but maintain a lumpy batter. Fold in the blueberries.

Heat a griddle over medium heat. Brush with the melted butter. Working in batches, spoon 1/4 cup of batter onto the griddle for each pancake. Cook until golden brown, about 3 minutes per side. Serve with honey syrup.

While we’re on the subject of pancakes, can we talk about how one should grease thegriddle. I’ve always been a straight up butter girl myself. That’s how my Dad did it and his pancakes always had a perfect, slightly crispy edge and a sweet buttery flavor. Apparently (unbeknownst to me) some people actually use non-stick spray when greasing the griddle for pancakes. I understand it cuts back on calories and fat – but man, there is just no substitute for pancakes made on a buttered griddle. But that’s just me.

Oh, and another thing. Sugar free syrup?! What’s the point? You’re eating PANCAKES. Unless they’re whole wheat, there’s sugar in there somewhere – even if you don’t directly add sugar to your batter. I don’t know, maybe I’m getting a little carried away here. I prefer just a touch of maple syrup, but I tend to be a pancake syrup purist. (Did I really just say pancake syrup purist)?

Ok, guys, it’s obviously been a long day.

Guess who’s having breakfast for dinner tonight?

Yep. This girl.

4 responses to “A Pancake Tour

  1. just don’t start doing cartwheels after dinner tonight :0)
    one of my favorite Becca and Paw Paw stories

  2. Two things. I like Giada’s recipes too, but don’t really care for her so much either. However, I made her Pesto Chicken last night. It was my first attempt at some pesto, it was pretty good.

    Second, I love breakfast for dinner. But I’m sure you already knew that. I made chocolate chip pancakes this past weekend. Sugar overload, but I still love it!

    PS I saw some Peanut Butter and Co. the other day and immediately thought of you!

  3. Great site. I keep finding new and interesting things here.

Leave a Reply

