Rise’n’Shine (Muffins)

I love muffins. They make my heart and mouth happy. I really love muffins that have a hearty chew – thus, my Rise’n’Shine muffins. I made these last night and promptly cut one open to apply the appropriate amount of butter to the insides. What? You don’t butter your muffins?

This is a Becker’s original ya’ll. It’s pretty healthy too. Yeah, it’s got sugar in it, but what good muffin doesn’t?

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup sugar ( I use organic turbinado)
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup canola oil (you can use veg oil if that’s what you have)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups grated carrots (I used two large carrots to get 2 cups)
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup walnuts (if you want)

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees-please. Grease muffin tin or use paper liners.

2. Combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, salt in a large bowl.

3. In another bowl, combine wet ingredients: eggs, canola oil, applesauce, grated carrots. Mix it all up.

4. Make a well in your dry ingredients and add the wet to dry. Stir it up (little darlin, stir it up… I digress). But don’t stir it up too much, add your nuts and raisins just before it’s completely combined, then finish combining it all.

5. Fill muffin cups about 2/3 way full. I topped mine with some old-fashioned oats, just for looks. You can do that too if you want – or maybe with walnuts, that would be mighty pretty and yummy! Bake for 17-20 minutes. (I went with 18  minutes in my hot oven).

6. Remove. Eat immediately with the appropriate amount of butter. Cool. Enjoy. Makes 12 muffins.

**A note on muffin mixing: It took a lot of trial and error for me to finally figure out that you truly need to only mix muffin batter until it is “just” combined.  If you over mix, you will get dry muffins. It’s hard not to keep stirring, but you must. Step away from the muffin batter.

I hope you like!

One response to “Rise’n’Shine (Muffins)

  1. Looks so good…one for Beccas Bakery 🙂

Leave a Reply

