The Great Debate Settled (for me, at least)

It’s been a few months in the making, but I’m finally ready to talk about my beloved Greenlife Grocery being bought out by Whole Foods Market. Here’s some background: In May of this year, Whole Foods bought out local grocery chain Greenlife (locations in Asheville, NC and Chattanooga, TN) and there was quite a stink created in the Ashvegas community. Lots of people were upset, and understandably so. Greenlife is like no other grocery store as they sell and produce mostly local and organic items. This includes produce, meat, cheese, even bread and baked goods. It’s truly heaven on earth for a self-proclaimed “healthy foodie.” Customers were concerned that Whole Foods would corrupt the local philosophy Greenlife had so carefully cultivated.

I was among those, at first, that had major beef with the merger, but time cheaper prices heals all wounds. I wondered into Greenlife (they are staying with the Greenlife name) yesterday and was shocked at the new stickers all over the store. Prices were slashed anywhere from $1-$2 per item. This might not sound like a big deal, but trust me, it was huge! A box of cereal that would have cost almost $5 before, was only $3.69 yesterday (Peanut Butter Puffins, anyone)! What!? I know this all sounds really shallow, but what can I say? I’m a lady on a budget and I gotta be real ya’ll. It’s true, I was buying these items before even though they seriously put a dent in my wallet because it was worth it to me to have organic, pesticide free apples instead of a new name brand blouse. You know?

 However, my life was much sweeter yesterday when I walked out of the grocery store, spending less than $40, with a pretty substantial load. I almost sure I heard trumpets and a beam of light shone down on me as I walked out those sliding doors.

So, I guess the point is… Whole Foods bought Greenlife, Greenlife has committed to keep selling locally produced & high quality goods, Prices are lower due to the merger and it appears that no one has lost their jobs from , as all of my favorite cashiers are still there. Those are the things that matter to me most, and because of all these things are still in tact, I’ve come to terms with the “sell out.” In fact, I tip my hat to Greenlife for having the guts to make a big, somewhat risky change in order to continue their success and to provide customers with the best possible service and quality.

Leave a Reply

