When the husbands away… the girl will cook

I know, I know. I was gone an entire week this time! An entire week?! My excuse is completely valid though. My mom had hip surgery and I was with her throughout the week being a good little nurse. Let me tell ya, I will not be having hip replacement surgery. Ever. Nope. No sir. I’m popping calcium like a mad woman. For reals. You should too… all you ladies, that is.  

Anywho. So I got back home Friday afternoon and then Cdub left Sunday for banking school in Chapel Hill for a week. Booo. But, apparently when the husband is away, I play cook. Yesterday I made granola.  

Like so.  

Yep.

 

 I love, love, love, lurrrve granola. I eat it by the handful and it’s probably a problem. It just tends to be so expensive, so I decided yesterday I would make my own to munch on all week. I made this with ingredients I already had on hand.  

Here’s my recipe:  

Becker’s Bomb Granola  

  • 4 cups old-fashioned thick rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup nuts ( I used almonds and walnuts, because I had just a little of both)
  • 1 Tbs butter (melted)
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp brown sugar

Method  

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Mix all the ingredients until everything is well coated. Spread mixture onto a 1 inch cookie sheet. (I like to put tin foil down and spray it with non stick  cooking spray because it makes for easy clean up :)). Bake for about 25-30 mins. Stirring every now and then. Take it out, mix it around a bit and LET IT COOL!   

You can bake this longer or shorter depending on how you like your granola. I like mine super crunchy, so I usually go for about 30 mins. Of course, you can always omit or add things to your granola. Just keep it simple. Simple it best.  

Yeah. this is some good stuff. Trust me.  

I also apparently like to make soup in the middle of the summer. I used Kath’s summer herb soup recipe. I don’t have a slow cooker though, so I just threw mine on the stove in a big ol pot for a couple of hours. It turned out great! I made a few changes and omitted red pepper flakes because I’m not a huge spicy fan. I also only used two tomatoes, because I’m also not a huge tomato fan. 🙂 I topped mine with feta, just cause. It’s such a simple recipe. I only advise making soup in the summer time if your air conditioning works pretty well. 🙂 That being said. Make this tonight.  

Some of the highlights.  

The goods

 

All together now

 

Get in my belly

 

Completely necessary

 

Yeah, so that’s what I did yesterday. Granola and soup. I almost made cornbread to go with my soup and then decided I was too lazy. Toasted sourdough with butter worked just fine.  

I did manage to pull up our vegetable garden… finally! It was really starting to look pretty desperate. I also watched that movie Valentine’s Day. I definitely do not recommend it. There were lots of good actors doing some pretty terrible acting. Bleck. A total waste of 2 hours. Good thing I had some yummy soup and vino to get me through. 

**Please ignore that empty jug of Carlo Rossi sitting on the counter. That’s wasn’t mine.

3 responses to “When the husbands away… the girl will cook

  1. ….mmmm sounds and looks good! Carlo Rossi :0) he he he love the bottle though

  2. Hope your mother is feeling better now. Hip replacements have the highest rate of satisfaction for any surgery – about 97% so I’m curious why you’re so set against them.
    Of course not needing one is the best alternative but watch the calcium intake as recent studies have linked it to heart problems.
    You can never win!
    Pamela
    (ps I’ll pass on the granola but mmm the wine looks tasty!)

    • Hi Pamela. My mom is recovering very well! I’m definitely not against a hip replacement – I just don’t want arthritis or “need” to have a hip replacement. It certainly is a wonderful sugery and I’m very VERY glad she was able to get one. Recovery isn’t horrible, but it doen’t look like a party either. Thanks for the info on calcium, I’ll have to do a little research. I actually take less than what the package recommends as I eat pretty well and imagine I get a good amount anyway.

Leave a Reply

