A little Bare

I know. I know. Things have been a little bare around here lately. But I promise I have not completely forgotten about my 10 faithful readers.  I’ve just been a bit… uninspired lately. Just going through the motions – you know? So let’s see what’s happened lately?   

I made spinach muffins last night… major success! Can you believe it? Totally went out on a limb and modified and zucchini bread/muffin recipe a bit. The only change I would make, would be to cut back on the sugar a bit. But all in all – delicious. As I handed one to my guinea pig, aka “Cdub,” he immediately asked, “Do these have tofu in them? Hummus (what?)? Turkey bacon (seriously?)?” After I affirmed these were all a negative, he bravely took a bite and proclaimed, “Man, these are GOOD!” Sweet!   

I’ve also started a little bit of a tradition around my office, where myself and now, 3 other ladies, go to Greenlife on Tuesdays for some killer mac n cheese. I’m pretty sure Greenlife should be paying me some sort of commission or something at this point. Just sayin.   

I’m officially in training mode for a trail race called the Springmaid Splash in August. This thing is hard. I mean “Hard” with a capital “H” ya’ll. It’s a 10k (there is also a 5k), but you can’t really expect to PR or get close to your typical 10k time. You have to run through a river four times, and to the top of a muddy, rocky, single track mountain. It’s crazy. Absolutely ludicrous – and this will be the fourth year I’ve run. It is seriously the most fun you’ll have at a race ever. I think it’s partly due to the fact that there is less pressure and people just enjoy themselves. I always end up making new friends on the course and we all encourage one another. Plus, the organizers are awesome and it’s so well executed. Awesome, I tell ya.  

  

So my training schedule looks something like this:  

  • M – Speedwork/circuit workout (2-3 miles)
  • T – Cross train – usually a bike ride
  • W – Easy run  (3 miles)
  • TR – Cross train or rest day
  • F – Hill workout (4 miles)
  • S – Rest day
  • Su – Long run (5 – 8 miles)

I usually follow training schedules I find online, but this time I decided to take matters into my own hands. I feel pretty comfortable with this and I like the flexibility. I also like the fact that I’m doing something different every day. Variety is the spice of life, no? I’ll let you know how this works out for me. My times at Springmaid have gone like this: Year 11 hr, 24 mins (first time)/ Year 21 hr, 11 mins (when I was super runner girl), Year 31 hr, 19 mins. (right after my wedding, didn’t really train much). I hope to get somewhere in the range of 1:15 this year. Again – you can NOT expect to run this thing in your typical 10k time. Hence, the seemingly longish times.  

What else? We spent the weekend in Knoxville with friends. It was so much fun. Maggie went with us and found out what it’s like to be around 3 other dogs 24/7. She wasn’t really a happy camper, but survived none the less.   

Maggie and Emery (friend's pup) actually behaving

 

Oh man, and we went here. If you’re ever in Knoxville – go to Tomato Head. Seriously. I’m sure there are plenty of great restaurants downtown, but the baked tofu quesadilla changed my life. Legit. For real. I also did some pretty legit cannonballs, as demonstrated below.  

Serious business

 

 Cdub and I have our one year anniversary coming up this Sunday, August 1st. It’s been said many times, and it’s so true, time flies when you’re having fun. Not sure what our plans are yet, but we’ll probably be celebrating Saturday with a hike and a delicious dinner. I’ll be heading to Burlington, NC Sunday to be with mom after surgery for the remainder of the week.  

Let’s take a walk down memory lane in honor of our upcoming anniversary. Shall we?  

Watch out now!

 

Married, yo!

 

Prettiest friends/bridesmaids ever.

 

That’s all for now! See you later this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

