A Lone Wolf

I like to think of myself as a lone wolf. That’s, right, just roaming around the desert… nevermind (The Hangover, anyone)? Yesterday I entered into a very serious conversation with a co-worker about a particular BBQ restaurant in town. Said restaurant is one that is very, very popular and people will wait in lines 30, 40, even 60 minutes long just to eat food from this particular place (and that’s just for lunch)! When President Obama visited Asheville, he even had to eat there. So it’s a big deal. I mean people worship this place like it’s a religion.

I don’t like it. The restaurant, that is. I just don’t care for it.

So as my co-worker and I argued (it got pretty nasty) about whether or not this restaurant was one of the best in town ( I argued it was not), I started to realize something. I have eaten there before and it’s pretty good, actually. I mean, it certainly holds it’s own in a town full of amazing restaurants. But, I, apparently, have a little bit of a situation. I shall call it “lone wolf syndrome.” I realized something huge about myself, it hit me like a ton of bricks. If everyone is going one direction… I’m probably going to turn around and go the other direction. If everyone else jumps off the bridge, will I? HECK NO! I’m running to the other side buddy.

I discovered, yesterday, from this very impassioned conversation about a stupid BBQ restaurant, that I.am.a.loner. I’m a rebel. I like to defy the authority, yo. Ok, so I’m not some crazy kids with tattoos and purple hair, but you know what I mean. It seems that any time people are telling me what I should do, or what I should like, or what color I should paint my bedroom, it just pushes me further in the other direction. I like to go against the current a little bit. You tell me to paint my bedroom yellow, it will end up brown.

So what does this mean? Well, I’m not really sure. I’d like to think it means, I’m an individual. An individual who doesn’t need approval or recognition from other people to be happy. (Which is generally a bunch of malarkey, because we all seek approval, eh)? But I suspect it could just mean I’m stubborn and hard headed, and won’t ever get where I’m trying to go, because I won’t listen to others. Let’s hope it’s the former.

So I’ve made this grand discovery. But what does it all mean?! I think I’ll just my lone wolfness and try to use it to my advantage. 

Amen.

One response to “A Lone Wolf

  1. You are your mother’s daughter…

Leave a Reply

