Are we there yet?!

Vacation. Sweet vacation is upon us. C-dub and myself are driving to Hilton Head, SC after work today. I got ants in my pants, I’m so excited! We typically go in September, but since my family canceled our annual beach trip to Emerald Isle, NC this year, we are going with his parents for the 4th to the SC coast. I have to admit that when I first visited Hilton Head, I wasn’t a huge fan – but it’s grown on me. The beach really is beautiful and there are lots of good restaurants and bars. My first impression was that HHI was kind of… what’s the word… “snooty.” Yeah, snooty. But after a few visits, I came to find that people were actually really friendly and it’s a nice place to visit. Plus, it’s home to my favorite breakfast place ever! Banana rum pancakes? Yes, please! 

We’re driving down to Beaufort, SC Monday morning and staying the night, so we can spend some time here. We actually got engaged in Beaufort, so it holds a special place in our hearts. We love Beaufort so much that we’ve actually talked about moving there, if we ever decided to move. It’s the one place (other than the Bahamas), we would ever live. 🙂 Plus, I kind of have this thing for spanish moss and shrimp boats. I just love the peacefulness of small, southern coastal towns. But, one of the best things about Beaufort is the food! It’s a small town with big food! Let’s talk about some of our favorite places. 

Shrimp Boats ❤

 

We like to have breakfast at a little coffee shop called Common Ground. They don’t have a website, but they have the best mocha known to man and some delicious muffins and pastries + free wireless. 

Another one of our favorites is called Plums. We eat there at least twice when we’re visiting Beaufort or camping at Hunting Island. They have the best sandwiches, salads and really good local beers. Yummy. 

But our most favorite place is called Luther’s (no website again). Luther’s also holds a special place in our heart because we watched an epic LSU vs Georgia game in which LSU won. BAM! (We’re kind of big LSU fans). Beaufort is close to GA, so there were lots of GA fans in the house. We happened to be two of the four LSU fans in the house. We had so. much. fun. and ate some delicious food. Best turkey wrap on the planet. I promise. 

I’m so excited to put my toes in the sand and just relax. I love my mountains, but sometimes nothing compares to the peaceful feeling you get sitting by the ocean. Am I right? 

Bliss

 

So, I’ll be on vacation the next few days. I will have lots of pictures to share when I return. Who knows, I might even pop in to say hello while I’m on the road. Also, I’ll be watching Wimbledon finals (even though my boyfriend is out, so sad), and the start of the TOUR! Too much excitement to handle right!? 

Have a wonderful 4th! Which reminds me – I kind of love reading the Declaration of Independence. I think Thomas Jefferson must of been one eloquent dude. I love the final paragraph: 

“We, therefore, the Representatives of the united States of America, in General Congress, Assembled, appealing to the Supreme Judge of the world for the rectitude of our intentions, do, in the Name, and by Authority of the good People of these Colonies, solemnly publish and declare, That these united Colonies are, and of Right ought to be Free and Independent States, that they are Absolved from all Allegiance to the British Crown, and that all political connection between them and the State of Great Britain, is and ought to be totally dissolved; and that as Free and Independent States, they have full Power to levy War, conclude Peace, contract Alliances, establish Commerce, and to do all other Acts and Things which Independent States may of right do. — And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of Divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes, and our sacred Honor.”

One response to “Are we there yet?!

  1. Have a great time….I still want to go to Hunting Island and Beaufort!

Leave a Reply

