Factory Farming

It’s not pretty. But it’s necessary to talk about it.

A few weeks ago, I wrote this post, concerning my thoughts on vegetarianism. I’m pretty conscious about the choices I make when buying food. As I’ve mentioned before, I try to buy organic and, most importantly, local when I can. I also try to buy humanely raised/hormone & antibiotic free meats. 

I recently read an article that really reinforced my desire to purchase meat SOLELY from humanely raised sources. The article was about factory farming. So what is factory farming? Let me break it down for you in simple terms.

Factory Farms are:

  • Large, industrial operations that raise animals in overcrowded, confined conditions
  • Many animals are raised indoors in very unsanitary conditions, which creates the needs for low dose antibiotics and hormones to help the animals grow faster and bigger
  • Public health problems are often created due to factory farming because the spread of food borne illness in humans is much more likely due to the unsafe meat ingested

These are just a few facts that help outline the idea of factory farming. Not only is this method of agriculture dangerous to our health, it is a complete disregard of animal welfare.

This whole industrial agriculture/factory farming thing can get pretty involved (and ugly). I suppose my purpose in writing this to make sure we are all aware that this happens. A lot. It’s a problem and the only way anything can be done about it is for each of us to take some individual responsibility for the choices we make. There are lots of books and even movies on the subject, and I’d encourage you to check them out.

To go along with this whole “should I or shouldn’t I” {eat meat} question I’ve been dealing with recently, the USDA recently released the newest food pyramid. It consists mostly of plant-based foods and much less proteins. Interesting.

Good Morning America did a pretty good wrap-up of the new guidelines today – check it out here.

Leave a Reply

