Abby Sunderland

I was actually in the middle of writing a different post, when I ran across an article online about Abby Sunderland. Abby is attempting to sail around the world alone. Yesterday, she started experiencing some pretty bad weather and satellite communication was lost. She’s smack dab in the middle of the Indian Ocean, and a search effort is in full force.

Did I mention she’s 16. Yes, as in, just got her driver’s license, maybe hasn’t even had her first kiss yet, 16. She’s very very young. In my opinion she’s also brave and probably mature beyond her years.

I felt moved to write this because after I read the article about Abby’s rescue effort, I started reading the comments people were posting about Abby’s parents. Man, we are a judgemental bunch, eh?

I was heartbroken to see so many nasty comments about this family. I have a sneaky suspicion that her parents want what’s best for their daughter and for her to be happy, which might mean letting her follow her dreams and sail around the world solo. I have a feeling that she’s probably pretty stubborn and has her crap together more than most 20, heck, 25 year olds (read her blog). I have a feeling that what this family needs most right now is prayer, not criticism.

It’s sure is easy to point fingers. I hope Abby is found safe. If she is, I hope she will not give up and is able to complete her journey.

Leave a Reply

