I can do this. Right?

Ok guys, it’s time to get real. Saturday I’m running this race. In all honesty, I don’t think I’ve been training enough. I was doing great for a while, but lately I’ve just been kind of burned out. Luckily it’s all down hill, so that favors my lack of training a bit, except for the fact that it’s going to kill my quads! My training has looked something like this: 

Tuesday – easy run (3- 5 miles) 

Thurday – speed play (4ish miles) 

Sunday – long run (8-11 miles) 

I’ve also been throwing in a bike ride at least once a week. This might look fine and well, but my long runs have been a real struggle. For some reason, after about an hour, I just bonk. I’m not really sure what’s going on. My body feels strong for the most part and I know have enough stamina to last longer than an hour, I’m just really nervous for the first time. I think my legs are asking for a break and I should probably comply. After this half, I’m going to do just that. I still plan to run at least 2 days a week, but I want to get on my bike more and do more “leisurely” exercise – taking hikes with the dog and c-dub or  maybe some yoga. I think my leggies will appreciate the rest. I will run the Springmaid Splash in August, but this a 10k trail race. If I keep a solid base, I feel training won’t be so bad. It’s a tradition at this point to run Springmaid, as I’ve run for the past 3 years and can’t stop now. 

Speaking of bikes, here’s a picture of my baby. I love this thing! Her name is Molly – I’m not really sure why, it just is.   

Fuji touring bike

C-dub and I got two good rides in this weekend. One was about 16 miles. Then last night we rode into town for dinner and back home – totaling about 12 miles. Good stuff. 

C-dub trucking along

What else happened this weekend? Oh, yeah we put a slip and slide in our front yard – totally normal. 

Yep, that's me. I'm terrified.

We also tried a new wine. It’s called Root 1 and I have been eyeing it for a while – mostly because I love the bottle. Good stuff guys – good stuff. I drank some Saturday night at our cookout and we finished it off Sunday night on the porch (which was lovely). I found it in our regular grocery store, and I’ve seen it in specialty stores as well. 

Yummay

I think that’s all I’ve got for now. I owe ya’ll two posts today since I went MIA for a few days this weekend. 

Well, actually, there’s a reason I go MIA on the weekends – C-dub and I don’t have internet. Or television. That’s right, we’re technology free at home. Not really purposefully, it’s really due to the fact that we’re cheap. But we’re planning to get internet very soon, so I can blog with some regularity on the weekends and C-dub has access to some work stuff. We don’t plan on getting television any time soon though – we’ve been almost a year without it! I can’t believe I’ve survived without my morning news and food network, but it’s been a good thing, me thinks. 

See ya on the flip side. Gah! I almost forgot our randomness of the day.

Random question of the day: One of my favorite childhood “games” was a slip and slide, hence planting one in our front yard this weekend. What was your favorite game or past time as a kid?

Puppy love for all!

One response to “I can do this. Right?

  1. Pingback: 1:58:17 « Beckersruns

Leave a Reply

