Foodie Friday

I hereby proclaim Fridays on the blog as “Foodie Fridays.” Foodie Fridays will be devoted to sharing some of my favorite foodie items. This includes snacks, recipes, new items, beverages and restaurant reviews!  

Let’s get this party started with one of my most favorite rediscoveries.   

Foodie Item #1: About a year ago I became obsessed with Peanut Butter & Co. peanut butters. For some reason I stopped buying their peanut butters for a while, but recently went back and got this beauty –  

Reunited and it feels so good

 

Yes, you want to try this. The nutrition stats are on the website, but a serving is about 160 calories with 6 grams of protein and 9 grams of sugar. All PB & Co. products are free of high fructose corn syrup and hydrogenated oils. So there all natural – naturally heavenly.  

Foodie Item #2: Paul Newman, how I love thee. Newman’s Own Organics has these little beauties called Champion Chip Cookies. I recently bought a bag of the chocolate chocolate chip version. These are sweet and rich and the perfect “something sweet,” after lunch or dinner. Yummmmmy. The stats on these guys aren’t terrible either. Four cookies offers up 160 calories and 11 grams of sugar, so you’re blood sugar won’t go into crisis mode. They’re definitely not a “diet” cookie by any means, but sometimes most of the time, the real thing is just better.  

Find them. Love them.

 

Food item #3: This next item is actually a beverage. This one is not for the kiddies guys. Let me tell you about Rag Apple Lassie Cabernet Sauvignon. I tell you what, those folks in the Yadkin Valley (NC) really know what’s up. This stuff is the jam! That’s right – the jam. This cab is smooth and rich, you can definitely taste plum in this guy. My mouth is watering right now thinking about it. In my opinion, this is actually a pretty good summer red. I know Cab’s generally have a heavier reputation, but trust me on this one. It’s certainly not cheap, but worth the splurge for a special occasion, like a Wednesday night. I haven’t seen this in the grocery store, but our local wine shop carries it, so check your and don’t give up until yours find it. Today. Run! Hurry!  

Best wine logo ever

 

Seriously? A cow sitting on the moon, drinking wine. Precious.
Foodie item #4: Coffe. I love it. I don’t really drink a ton of it or anything (about a cup and half every morning), but I love the taste of it. One of my favorites this time of year is The Fresh Market Summer Breeze blend. O.M.G. A blend of sweet cream and apricots! Whhhattttt?! It is so good. Light and refreshing and just downright tasty. With just a touch of creamer (the real kind – no fat-free for this girl), it’s love in a cup.

Pretty packaging too!

 

Foodie Item #5: Ok, ya’ll, I’ve saved the best for last. I love gelato. It holds a special place in my heart, because it’s awesome. For a long time I was eyeing this Talenti Gelato in our grocery store, but it was expensive. I knew if I bought this home and C-dub saw how much it cost, he would have a heart attack. One day as I browsed the ice cream isle, I saw a beautiful yellow sticker on the price tag with four of our favorite letters S.A.L.E. YES! I bought 2 pints, double dark chocolate & caramel cookie crunch. This stuff does not mess around. I went back and bought 2 more pints while it was on sale. C-dub loves it too. Other flavors include: tahitian vanilla bean, champagne peach, belgium milk chocolate, white chocolate raspberry, and the list goes on. It was love at first bite. Oh, and we’ll just forget the nutrition stats on this one.

No words.

 

Ok. That wraps up our first edition of Foodie Friday. That was fun, no? I’m all about sharing the love.
In other delicious food news, my father in law’s birthday is today, so we’re all eating dinner at Bonefish. Yippee!
Random question of the day:  What’s your favorite “special treat” food? One of mine would have to be gelato, any flavor. 🙂  
3 responses to “Foodie Friday

  1. My favorite “special treat” is my mom’s homemade Chocolate Sour Cream Pound Cake with a scoop of Vanilla Bean Ice Cream on top. Mmmmmmmmm, I need to get that recipe from her ASAP!

  2. I need you to make that ASAP.

  3. Finished the Rag Apple Lassie and will keep the cool bottle for fresh cut flowers 🙂 Fav treat is very simple…caramel cremes…

Leave a Reply

