Once

Did everyone see this movie?

I hope so. If you didn’t, you should go rent it ASAP. Once was “the little film that could.” It was released in 2006 as an Indie, low-budget film about two musicians who end up making an album together over a few days. They fall  for each other but… well I’ll spare you the details in case you haven’t seen it yet. I can say, the music in this movie is absolutely flawless (in my humble opinon). Not to mention, Glen Hansard, who happens to be pretty darn easy on the eyes (and Irish). Marketa Irglova is the female lead whose voice can make you cry. Once won an Oscar in 2007  for best original song.

Hubs and I didn’t see this movie until a few months ago and we both loved it! When I found out they were touring in America and happened to be coming to Asheville one day before my Bday – I had to buy tickets! So tonight we’re going to see Glen and Marketa’s band The Swell Season at the Orange Peel! Yes! Their new album is Strict Joy. It  features new songs and some covers. One of my favorites is their version of Into the Mystic by Van Morrison.

Needless to say, I’m pretty excited about seeing these guys live. I’ll definitely be posting about the show tomorrow to let ya’ll know how amazing it was!

If you’re interested their tour schedule is here.

Leave a Reply

